It´s finally confirmed! My friend from Dublin (Joanna) is coming over. We will be in the Galapagos from 25th to 31st December. New Year´s will be spent in Mindo.
I am back in school on the 3rd January.

Well, a little addition here. I would definitely not recommend the company we booked our tour with. I hope the tour will be ok, as so far we had a few hiccups with the booking process.
If you pay by credit card, they charge an extra fee which is 60 USD. The alternative was cash, deposit or transfer. Because I couldn´t do a deposit in Otavalo, as I was still working, they suggested a transfer. I had to do 2 different transfers, so in fairness the payment was delayed. However, although I transferred the full amount, they did not receive the same amount on their bank account. I could prove black on white the amount that was debited from my account (less charges) and for each transaction they were missing 40 USD. After an hour of debating and suppositions on where the money could be (of course the suggestion was my bank charged something and therefore they did not receive everything, instead of phoning their bank and see why the full amount was not received) we unfortunately got into a heated discussion where I was detailed all the little “extras” we are getting and the favours they are actually doing for us and explanations on how they lost a lot of money on the transaction etc.: one free night in the hostel offered by them because they initially confirmed the outgoing flight for the 24th, but could only book the 325th, the missing money, the fact that we changed the booking from 2 persons to 1 and then again for 2 (true, but this did not affect them financially in any way).. After half an hour of going nowhere and the agent repeatedly saying, well, I am not going to ask you to pay any more, but consider that you transferred, so you should pay the fee for booking by VISA, and we are offering you a free night and we had to wait for the money etc. I decided to cough up another 30 USD just to close the whole thing off and finish once and for all.
The funny thing is, he himself confirmed they are often missing money on the transactions and they don´t know why, because people keep saying they are transferring the full amounts but they get less!!! Daaaaaah!!! Obviously there is something funky going on with their bank. I am sure a German, French or Dutch customer would not pay any cent extra and now I am starting to regret I did. It just felt like I was talking to a gypsy and didn´t want to be a b.. get up leave and let them sort it out themselves..
In any case..
So, probably the best thing is to pay cash and avoid all the mess.
They also have a hostel, where we are staying for 2 nights before the flight to the Galapagos. It´s not the best I´ve been in, it´s not the worst.. Room is a bit cold and dark. Breakfast in theory is from 7.30. It was 8.40, we were looking forward to some nice food and the owner was going out shopping for the food!! Then why not say breakfast from 9.00 am and save everyone the trouble.. They made up for it with great fruit salad and eggs. But, as for me coffee makes or breaks a breakfast I am going to deduct more points for yet again, in the country of coffee, INSTANT COFFEE!!

I have also found another volunteering opportunity in Mindo, working in a hotel for food and board for a month. I will start on the 11th or 12th January. It´s a good opportunity to explore a beautiful area almost for free and it gives me a chance to look for a proper job.
In addition I have met a lady who works in the Wall Street Institute here in Otavalo who gave me her contact details, as they are looking to hire new people in February. Fingers crossed I can get an interview and a job!

May be taking a break for the holidays but looking forward to resuming more exciting (hopefully) entries in 2011!

All the best, have a wonderful time, hugs & kisses from a distance!